Link to Free Trust Book by Gibb. I use his TORI theory with each client

A personal Introduction to the Gibb Trust book.

 http://www.oocities.org/toritrust/trust.htm

 

Below I have my arm around Charlie Seashore, who writes the forward.

Image

I started my OD Journey with a Seashore Bethel  T-group as a college Freshman in 1962. It was a pilot university program from NTL that Charlie was the Dean of.

Charlie may have been doing his PhD internship with Jack Gibb and Ron Lippitt at the time or maybe he just finished it.

A private note to my daughter, Arielle. Notice how Charlie introduces his daughter’s Becky and Kim right in the first paragraph. Both Jack and Charlie always included their children as much as possible… thus I include you Arielle more than you wish. Why? Because I am modeling the importance of family as was a strong tradition in the early days of organization development around Bethel Maine.

Image

Here is a picture of Arielle last week overlooking the building where  she was first introduced to OD as a 2 month old baby and where I gave Jack Gibb the ISOD lifetime achievement award in the last days of his life. We all had a good cry as he told us that he only had a few months to live. Jack was one of the most giving and loving and trusting and empowering facilitators of all the founders. No one in my estimation had the power of large group facilitation as Jack did. I have countless stories. His theory of teambuilding is key in the whole scale-change work of Kathy Dannemiller. It is my purpose in life professionally to bring Jack and Kathie’s legacy forward.

Kathy’s main mentor was Ron Lippitt. Ron and Jack were very close. They published together the most popular initial OD books, i.e. T-Group Theory and Laboratory method. I wore the 1st edition out and needed to purchase 2 more. The other key book was “The Laboratory Method of Learning and Changing.”  In the day these 2 books had more of the OD guru’s and founders writing together than any other book.

Such  is my 3rd and upcoming 4th edition of Practicing OD modeled after.

Help us keep their tradition alive. Kathie oft said “Stop working in piecemeal small groups with cheap canned tools that do not integrate with the whole system transforming itself.

Oh… One other personal note. Charlie supported me in starting the Asia Organization Development Network and  designing the initial AODN conference. Charlie we need to have you come and be a keynote virtually from your Skype… Perhaps in India 2013.

Now the first pages of the book for you to download free of charge. Do it now. It disappeared for a couple of years.  

 

 

TRUST:

A New Vision of

Human Relationships for Business,

Education, Family, and Personal Living

by

Jack R. Gibb

1991 Edition

Note: Click here to read what others have said about this book.

Copyright @ 1978 by Jack R. Gibb
All Rights Reserved.
TRUST, by JACK R. GIBB was originally published by The Guild of Tutors Press, International College, 1978.
Second Edition was published by Newcastle Publishing Co., Inc., North Hollywood, California, 1991.
ISBN 0-87877-164-6
Library of Congress Card Catalogue Number: 77-93139

 

For Lorraine, Blair, John, and Larry

Life, being an ascent of consciousness, could not continue to advance indefinitely along its line without transforming itself in depth.

Teilhard de Chardin

C 0 N T E N T S

Foreword      by Charles Seashore

Introduction      by Willis Harman

Author’s Preface

1. TRUSTING ME, YOU, AND THE PROCESS

2. DISCOVERING HOW TO BE PERSONAL

3. TRANSCENDING THE ENVIRONMENT

4. VISION: THEORY AS A GUIDE TO SEEING

5. RHYTHM AND FLOW: A SET OF GUIDELINES

6. TRANSPARENCY AND BEING WITH

7. EMERGENCE OF THE GROUP

8. SIMPLICITY AND ENERGY FLOW IN THE ORGANIZATION

9. THE WONDER AND MAGIC OF COMMUNITY

10. RELEASING THE CONSTRAINTS: THE PROCESS OF MANAGEMENT

11. SOCIAL CHANGE: DISCOVERING AND CREATING A NEW WORLD

12. IMAGES OF THE FUTURE

Appendix A: TORI Self-Diagnosis Scale

Appendix B: Diagnosing Your Team 

Appendix C: Defensive Communication 

Appendix D: Selected Readings on TORI Theory and Applications

Appendix E.- Selected List of Research Studies Related to Aspects of TORI Theory

Appendix F.- Selected Readings About Trust and Fear, Their Effects Upon Living, and Their Use as Constructs in Building a Theory

F 0 R E W 0 R D by Dr. Seashore

“Trust me, I’m a psychologist.” Laughter is the predictable response whenever I tack that phrase onto the end of a statement to a colleague in whom I sense a bit of skepticism. And it never wears thin with two particularly important people, my daughters Becky and Kim. I see it applied to many other professions on bumper stickers, on TV talk shows and greeting cards but I never stopped to ask why it is funny. As I re-read TRUST, the reason for the laughter became clear. It is the mismatch of the two concepts, trust and psychologist, which do not belong to the same logical universe. Putting two things together that are incongruous catches one off guard like a good New Yorker cartoon………………………………

http://www.oocities.org/toritrust/trust.htm

 

Roland again. Those of you who know me, realize that “Trasformation” is essential for me. Jack and I talked much about Chardin. I first encountered his writings in 1962.  I believe the breakthrough will peak as we enter the Age of Aquarius officially December 2012. The following is from the Internet.

Teilhard de Chardin’s World-Transforming Mysticism

The French scientist and priest saw the world in crisis–and believed humanity was on the verge of a cosmic breakthrough.

BY: Emilie Griffin

Read more: http://www.beliefnet.com/News/Science-Religion/2004/10/Teilhard-De-Chardins-World-Transforming-Mysticism.aspx#ixzz1wSgOZFDH

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Link to Free Trust Book by Gibb. I use his TORI theory with each client”

  1. rolandsullivan Says:

    I must acknowledge your Dr. Peter Sorensen for linking ISOD to the George Williams College Lake Campus. Professor Pete was my 1st academic OD instructor at GWC. The building and beautiful ground in the picture above is at the Lake Geneva campus. I asked last week how many times Peter had driven into that campus and he said 1000. George Williams was noted as the best small group dynamic academic education in the 60s. Thus the reason I attended.

    Now that so many people have mastered small group dynamics and team building we must now reach onward and upward to mastering large group facilitation from 300 to 2000 people. And I said, Jack Gibb was the best. I recall 10,000 at a TORI weekend at a university orientation. There was no pre-design or planned agenda. Jack took the microphone and just started. People left with what Jack termed the “AFTER GLOW”.

    One of my trainees has just done 10,000 in South Africa with the entire insurance industry. All were encouraged to bring a drum.

    While Jack was spontaneous, I now script my large groups with a design team that spends 5 to 10 days together before the event. The difference is that I have long-term execution and sustainability in a planned change journey while Jack’s group’s were an instant breakthrough/transformation. They were never the same afterwards.

    I expect the next generation to take what we old hippies learned and experienced and go to new levels of competency in helping the world deal with the incredible changes that are on the horizon.

  2. Janet Palmer Says:

    Pleasure to read and remember…thank you for the posting…

  3. Kate Andy Says:

    I want to know how to receive permission to use the TORI in research as it is copyrighted.

    • rolandsullivan Says:

      I don’t know how to help you because my pal Jack Gibb has left this life. and I believe the publisher of his book has gone out of business so I suggest just use it and explain

Leave a Reply

